Hive of activity


keeping bees has been an idea buzzing round my head for years. When I was 8 yrs old and my Gran (actually my mother’s grandmother) died I can remember Mum pounding some pastry or similar in her grief and saying in a distressed voice ‘WHO will tell the bees?’. Mum’s sisters can’t confirm that Gran kept bees but I feel sure she must have done partly from this very clear memory which I can still see and hear in my head and partly because it makes so much sense. Gran had been in service as she married in about 1900; not the cook I think, but she did do some of the cooking. Her father had been a market gardener – he grew things in his country garden though also supplied a large house locally. Bees are so important to those who grow crops and honey would be such a valuable sweetener and even used in home made remedies. I feel sure that a beehive or two would have been as natural as growing herbs.

About apiarylandlord

Definitely past it - whatever it was - I may have blinked and missed it. New to beekeeping and totally entranced by the experience. That is probably all you need to know until I work out how secure this blog is. Great fan of recycling - see ilovefreegle.org to find your local group. Save things from landfill. Pass on your surplus, locally, for free or ask for things you need in case you can have someone's cast off again for free.
This entry was posted in Beliefs, Experiences, Herefordshire youth, memories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

