Catching up a bit


We have had such a busy few weeks/months and I am afraid the blog has been neglected.

The hives were prepared for winter – treated for varroa,  fed syrup and in theory settled in for the winter.  What winter?  It has been so mild.  There has often been evidence of flying bees – not as exciting as you’d imagine.  Flying bees use more stores and if the queen is  tempted to think that winter is over and start to lay then starvation is more of a risk.  My bees seem to fly in fairly low temperatures – nearer 10 than 15 degrees.  I put the mouseguards on  and also got one  woodpecker protection in place quite early.  The second woodpecker protection was slow – I was lulled into feeling it was less crucial because there was so much food for the birds to feed on without threatening the hive.  About 10 days ago after giving the Christmas dose of fondant I decided it was time to get my act together.

You tube is so useful when you are about to do things for the first time.  There are videos for almost everything and I find that watching allows you to appreciate the unexpected problems.  I couldn’t get my fondant to roll into non sticky and manageable sections that I could move where I wanted when I wanted.  However, some of the examples seemed to take an age to get in, place the fondant and get out and I knew I wanted to avoid cooling them down too much.  I waited for a reasonable day, did the deed and exchanged the one crownboard for a clear one on the grounds it would be easier to check whether the first fondant had gone.   I have also been checking after particularly windy days or days when I have heard of badger activity that all is well.  One of the benefits of having the apiary close at hand.  I missed the midBucks day of showing oxalic treatment (grandson’s birthday) so I think I’ll need to look on you tube to see what to do and decide whether I should.

Mouseguard in place

Mouseguard in place

Woodpecker guard

Woodpecker guard

About apiarylandlord

Definitely past it - whatever it was - I may have blinked and missed it. New to beekeeping and totally entranced by the experience. That is probably all you need to know until I work out how secure this blog is. Great fan of recycling - see ilovefreegle.org to find your local group. Save things from landfill. Pass on your surplus, locally, for free or ask for things you need in case you can have someone's cast off again for free.
This entry was posted in Clothes and accessories, General beekeeping, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

