In touch with nature


I’m a country girl so always have been interested in the plant and animal life around me – not keen on some, like mice and the moles that ruin my lawn.  I’m trying to fill some gaps in my knowledge of birds and so I have been doing the garden bird watch for a few years.  this last weekend was the one when we were all to spend an hour logging those birds that landed in the garden.   They seemed a little quiet – I think they were put off by the cold temperatures.  It isn’t easy to be sure which are which so I added to me research in various ways.

There is an ipod applet – well 2 – Birds of Britain and Birdwatch log – the latter is free but the former seems a more complete applet with multiple images and sound bird calls to help identification and the ability to record them as spotted with a date and using your location.

There are quite a few good video resources too – after all these birds don’t stay still as long as you’d like and sometimes you catch the way they move more easily than the colours of feathers – especially of the little brown dart about birds.

From good old Aunty    http://www.bbc.co.uk/nature/wildlife

And loads on you tube – for example http://youtu.be/uF7N6Ya8-9I

RSPB has a good identification site and the big garden birdwatch has a link

About apiarylandlord

Definitely past it - whatever it was - I may have blinked and missed it. New to beekeeping and totally entranced by the experience. That is probably all you need to know until I work out how secure this blog is. Great fan of recycling - see ilovefreegle.org to find your local group. Save things from landfill. Pass on your surplus, locally, for free or ask for things you need in case you can have someone's cast off again for free.
This entry was posted in Background, Natural world, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

