Forget me nots


I started wondering whether the simple forget-me-nots around my hives were of any benefit to the bees.  Wikipeadia says yes for pollen and nectar – and they are the same family as borage.

Hives and forget-me-knots

Hives and forget-me-knots

Forget-me-knots and alliums near hive

Forget-me-knots and alliums near hive

From The Wildlife Trusts website: Like many of our native plants, Wood Forget-me-not is an excellent source of nectar and pollen for all kinds of insects including bumblebees and butterflies. To encourage wildlife into your garden, try planting native flower species in your borders to provide a ‘nectar-cafe’. To find out more about wildlife-friendly gardening, visit our Wild About Gardens website: a joint initiative with the RHS, there’s plenty of facts and tips to get you started.

Locations of visitors to this page

About apiarylandlord

Definitely past it - whatever it was - I may have blinked and missed it. New to beekeeping and totally entranced by the experience. That is probably all you need to know until I work out how secure this blog is. Great fan of recycling - see ilovefreegle.org to find your local group. Save things from landfill. Pass on your surplus, locally, for free or ask for things you need in case you can have someone's cast off again for free.
This entry was posted in Apiary layout, Forage, Forage plants, Garden area, General beekeeping and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Forget me nots

  1. I love the idea of a nectar cafe for bees!

  2. I have a lot of forget-me-nots that self-seed in the garden. I notice that it is the smaller bees that visit the forget-me-nots more. They are also very popular with the Bombylius major which is not such good news for the bumbles but does not pose any threat for the honey bees, as far as I know.

    • It is certainly fascinating to watch and spot patterns. Near my hives and the forget me nots, I tend to see one of the tree bumblebees almost every day, the ones that have only been in the UK a few years. It is hard to get a photo because they seem to hang underneath the flowers and well down towards the roots. I’m off in a moment so I’ll take my camera just in case.

      • I’m not sure what a tree bumble bee looks like. So far I can recognise some of the common ones and I have a few question marks. I find them fascinating.

      • They are trying to collate sightings of the tree bumblebee – see
        http://www.bumblebeeconservation.org.uk/tree_bee.htm where there is info to help identify it and how you can send in your sightings. That is why I wanted to take a photo. Did you know there are at least 6 varieties of cuckoo bumblebee? I found that quite surprising and it intrigues a lot of the young who are interested in bees.
        Thanks for taking time to comment.

      • Thanks for the link. I have joined the Bumble bee Conservation Trust but seemed to have missed that. I have definitely never seen one of those. They concentrate mainly on the UK species as they are trying to conserve the remaining ones and even this year to re- introduce the short-haired bumble bee.

Leave a Reply

