More questions


I’m still fascinated by some of the data that Nspyre are making available about their chipped bees.  Given the dreadful UK weather, it is easier than trying to see much of my bees activity.

I’ll be saying more about the patterns I have spotted in the bee movements in a  few days, when I have sufficient data to be a little more meaningful.

Weather and bee movements from NSPYRE for 8th june 2012

Weather and bee movements from NSPYRE for 8th june 2012

 

I’ve been looking at the weather summary on the NSPYRE website for a few days.  I have been surprised that the bees are active well into the night.  Sometimes it has looked as though they haven’t woken up until nearly mid day so today’s graph was interesting because they seemed to be more active in the morning.  On the bar chart section, there is no differentiation visibly between arrivals and departures.  Temperatures vary from about 14 degrees to 21 degrees .  At 1.00 am bee movements were about 5000 in number and at 1 pm they were just under double at about 9000.  The peak was about 13000 at about 5 pm.  I imagined that night time journeys would drop to almost nothing but that doesn’t seem to be the case.  The lowest number of bee journeys occurred at about 7/8 am and then again at 9 pm.  It could be that rain or wind occurred at such times.  If there is rain, then it is conceivable that just prior to rain the number of bee movements looks to be average but that the balance between arrivals and departures could change.  It is possible that more bees return home because they sense the rain is imminent and that those who would otherwise have set out decide to delay,

 

I think I shall have to see if I can discern more about the nature of the weather at Floriade.   It seems likely that the dips in bee movements relate to weather conditions but it is possible that there are natural cycles.  looking at more graphs /summaries might help to determine which if either is the case.

I suppose I don’t have enough detail about the weather to be sure about what is happening.  I assume that if it rains humidity will increase especially if there is warmth.

 

About apiarylandlord

Definitely past it - whatever it was - I may have blinked and missed it. New to beekeeping and totally entranced by the experience. That is probably all you need to know until I work out how secure this blog is. Great fan of recycling - see ilovefreegle.org to find your local group. Save things from landfill. Pass on your surplus, locally, for free or ask for things you need in case you can have someone's cast off again for free.
This entry was posted in Analysis of live bee data from tagged bees and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to More questions

  1. Emily Heath says:

    I hadn’t realised bees left the hive during the night either. Can you tell how long their journeys are at night? Could they be making quick trips to do their business?

    • I feel a night time session coming on – downloading to check out what their journey times are at night. I did reflect a little – the hive is dark; they like dark so if it is warm enough, why would they NOT go out at night? Floriade could be a special case – perhaps it is kept floodlit? My investigation of buddy behaviour also has some interesting data and I have started to wonder whether the bees have their own inbuilt body clock. We tend to assume that a long day and an almost as long night is a norm – but why should bees have a similar pattern?

      • Emily Heath says:

        I thought the reason for not going out at night would be that most flowers would stop producing nectar at that time, but perhaps they are finding flowers trying to attract night-time pollinators like moths? Your research is very exciting!

Leave a Reply

