Splits – lots of advice from another blogger


Beekeepers are so good at helping each other, either on the ground (Olwyn has been a star to me the last week or so) or online where there are blogs from comparative newbies like me or those who are much more knowledgeable. I don’t always have the time to read and concentrate on a topic at the time.  I’ve been meaning to go back to this one – and to share it with others – for some while.

 

I am useless at spotting queens which is why the title/ introduction caught my eye ‘The overnight split is a good choice if you are unable to find your queen but you want to know where she is after the split is complete. The downside is that it takes two days to complete.’

Image

Then underneath were links to all sorts of exciting sounding splits – such as the Mississippi.  Definitely one for later.  I find with some of these complex manipulations I need to almost physically go through the steps – perhaps with models / blocks – so I can fully take it in board.  Must be age that makes it harder for me to grasp ideas and fix them in the brain.  This came shortly after Rusty had mentioned a ventilated roof and I see she now has in the pipeline some plans.  Rusty is based in the US but I find that her words of wisdom are always pertinent  – when things are done differently it is good to think why – and then why shouldn’t we adopt that here.  Sometimes it is more consistent weather that allows different processes but at other times it is almost just tradition.  One of Rusty’s contacts has also been sending information about commercial beekeeping in the antipodes – Australia and New Zealand.  All very informative.

About apiarylandlord

Definitely past it - whatever it was - I may have blinked and missed it. New to beekeeping and totally entranced by the experience. That is probably all you need to know until I work out how secure this blog is. Great fan of recycling - see ilovefreegle.org to find your local group. Save things from landfill. Pass on your surplus, locally, for free or ask for things you need in case you can have someone's cast off again for free.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Splits – lots of advice from another blogger

  1. Rusty’s blog is great. You should see how many times I have to read through a recipe to comprehend it! And I’m not even that old yet. I keep Beecraft ring binders with artificial swarm instructions in my hives for times of emergency. I trust those a lot more than my memory.n

    • You’ve cheered me up no end. Why is it that artifical swarm seems so difficult? I talk to myself, go through the diagrams slowly and carefully and then for a blissful moment I think I’ve got it fixed. The next second it evaporates. Now your comment makes me think its not just age and I’m not heading for senility. Perhaps it is a little like map reading – one of the few things that males do seem to be able to do without half as much effort as we need.

      • Emily Heath says:

        Oh yes map reading is something else I struggle with. Landmarks make much more sense to me. The trouble is people often ask me for directions, but I don’t notice road names, only what roads look like!

        When it comes to artificial swarms I try to think of a real swarm, in which the old queen would be with the flying bees, and then that helps me remember somewhat what to do in the artificial swarm. In the exam I took recently I drew the whole thing out, but I’d memorised it after weeks of revision, bet I couldn’t do that now!

Leave a Reply

