Beekeepers, a helpful bunch on the whole, who know how to enjoy their hobby


I belong to 2 BKA’s – HWBKA and MBBKA.   I can’t always get to meetings and I do feel guilty about that – but then that is why I enjoy the ‘company’ of online beekeepers, too.  If you are thinking about keeping bees – or interested in them but fearing that it is impossible for you to take the step of becoming a beekeeper, do find out about your local society.  Your modest subscription will be saved many times over by the wisdom, support and chance to buy bees or equipment from those who know the local area.  Most BKA’s have newsletters and the current one from MBBKA highlights their recent carnival in Wendover and the amazing float.  I was caught between problems of a bad back and having committed to holding a street party in my back garden and could not attend so I was more than happy to see pictures in the newsletters to celebrate their efforts. They seem happy to share it with others – again so typical of beekeepers so I am going to put the link in case any online readers are intrigued.

MBBKA_newsletterwebpage

MBBKA_newsletterwebpage

 

 

(I did wonder whether the back problem would mean I had to ask neighbours to host it instead but luck or fete or something meant my back was better than for many days and the sun shone most of teh time, too)

About apiarylandlord

Definitely past it - whatever it was - I may have blinked and missed it. New to beekeeping and totally entranced by the experience. That is probably all you need to know until I work out how secure this blog is. Great fan of recycling - see ilovefreegle.org to find your local group. Save things from landfill. Pass on your surplus, locally, for free or ask for things you need in case you can have someone's cast off again for free.
This entry was posted in Beekeepers, Fun events and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

