I used to suffer from abulia – now I am not so sure.


For various reasons, I decided to do an online detox starting about mid January.   ‘Online ‘detox’ – it sounds impossible, doesn’t it?  My daughter has a local fitness trainer and had previously taken part in one of these – known as ‘fat burner’ – but I live some distance from her and wasn’t convinced that it would work.  I had several reasons to try and change my diet including weight loss but more important was to try and change some of my eating habits.  It wasn’t all bad news – I did have some good eating habits, honestly.

I can truthfully say that I wasn’t hungry – in fact I think I ate more than usual and it seemed full of variety possibly because others on the detox were so good at sharing recipes and because some things were out of bounds, it was necessary to learn some new things.  I think most family cooks must get into menu ruts so mine had to be rethought.Spiders_web_after_caffeine

I think the only negative was the withdrawal to caffeine headaches.  However, the fact they were bad really emphasised the effects of caffeine.  I remembered a set of pictures I saw years ago – the effects on spiders webs when spiders were exposed to various drugs including caffeine.  In essence, the webs were useless when they’d had caffeine though less so on what we would consider worse drugs.  See

So – how does the group work.  Yes there is a charge – between £30 – 40;  there is an early bird discount to bring the cost down to the lower figure.  What do you get?  A set of guidelines with recipes and suggestions and ongoing support and advice primarily from Danni who runs the group but then from the other group members.  There is also a 10 minute exercise video – changing each day and designed to complement the food regime.  In fact I quickly changed down to a sequence that works for me from past experience – I am afraid I was a much worse case than many in the group, and much older.  After the fortnight, there is a confession corner where we can keep up the group mentoring for which there is no charge.  All the resources are in a private facebook group.   I have lost about a stone in just over 3 weeks.  I lost 11lbs during the fatburner fortnight and the rest is a steady progression from keeping many of the guidelines post that first fortnight.  I haven’t felt hungry and I haven’t craved sweet things or things that are on the forbidden list.  After the initial fortnight, you can choose which items to introduce and then assess their impact though you can also pay for a sort of phase 2 which means you are mentored through that stage with additional resources.  You continue to have access to the exercise videos as long as you want with no charge.  For more info

So – what about abulia?  I am trying to get ready for my appearance as a contestant on Countdown so I am trying to increase my vocabulary.  Abulia is a word that means ‘lack of will power’ – and I certainly used to think mine was weak.  The detox made me wonder whether it was as weak as I thought – but perhaps it relates to the fact that I don’t feel hungry and indeed am enjoying my food more.

About apiarylandlord

Definitely past it - whatever it was - I may have blinked and missed it. New to beekeeping and totally entranced by the experience. That is probably all you need to know until I work out how secure this blog is. Great fan of recycling - see ilovefreegle.org to find your local group. Save things from landfill. Pass on your surplus, locally, for free or ask for things you need in case you can have someone's cast off again for free.
This entry was posted in Beekeepers in Winter, Countdown - being a contestant, Fat burner and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

