Just a modicum of success and a beekeeping disaster


I’ve been waiting for a suitable opportunity to do the oxalic acid treatment and feed if necessary.  It has been very cold and damp but yesterday was to have a milder day with some sun.  I practised using the container with a purpose bought version and water.  The time came for the foray to the bees.  The first hive (which still had fondant) was not happy but I ploughed on until I realised that there were bees INSIDE MY HOOD!  This guarantees mounting fear as the bees are trapped and panicking yet taking off my hood would put me unprotected within a cloud of angry bees.

I think I was lucky to get away with just one sting.  My other two hives will have to wait a day or so.  My ear was the location of the sting.  It could have been much worse.  I really don’t know how they got in so I need to check for holes.

About apiarylandlord

Definitely past it - whatever it was - I may have blinked and missed it. New to beekeeping and totally entranced by the experience. That is probably all you need to know until I work out how secure this blog is. Great fan of recycling - see ilovefreegle.org to find your local group. Save things from landfill. Pass on your surplus, locally, for free or ask for things you need in case you can have someone's cast off again for free.
This entry was posted in Bee life, General beekeeping, Stings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Just a modicum of success and a beekeeping disaster

  1. Louise says:

    Oh dear! I’m glad you’re OK.

    • I’m fine. It does seem that as you have a few stings you get used to them, but it is at the incredibly itchy stage at the moment. I am told that stings on the face can be really awful (lips etc) so I think I just need to thank my lucky stars it wasn’t worse – and check my bee suit for holes. I went down this morning and saw all 3 hives had bees flying. One hive was really busy – if it was summer I’d have thought they were about to swarm.

  2. Emily Heath says:

    Arrrgh! I got a bee inside once and it’s very scary, you feel so vulnerable. The top of the zip area is a common place for them to get in, sometimes there can be a tiny hole if you don’t quite do the zip up fully.

    • You are right, Emily – it is so scary. You want to take your hood off but there are even more out there and once stung, the ‘message’ that everyone should join in and sting you makes you even warier. Coincidentally, I had thought I had made doubly sure that the top of the zip area was closed and sealed properly – but I had already got my gloves on (because of the oxalic) so that could have been the problem area. Lesson learnt (I hope). i get some comfort from teh fact we are 2 weeks away from the Bucks beekeepers seminar – always an excellent day. Last year a very experienced beekeeper of about 50 years experience had been stung on the face a couple of days before – so perhaps I am in good company.

      • Emily Heath says:

        Ah the Bucks beekeepers seminar – would love to come but is a bit of a trek from London when you don’t drive, and trains are so expensive. The speaker programme looks excellent.

      • yes, speakers are usually really good. It is in Wendover so train does serve it fairly well. With the underground as far as Amersham (two stops from Wendover) there is added flexibility and the underground tends to keep fares down. I think it is cheaper to get to Missenden than to High Wycombe, I think. But I know what you mean – when added to entrance it can make things pricy. I qualify for a senior citizen rail card and a buss pass. It does help! being old has other problems, of course.

Leave a Reply

