Beekeeper this autumn


As part of my ‘Beekeepers in winter’ entries last winter, I explained how I’d applied to countdown and passed the audition.

This morning I look out of the window after yesterday’s rain.  The sun shines and as the days get shorter so morning shadows get longer.  Tickets to media city, Manchester seem to throb in my pocket and we’ll leave shortly.  Tomorrow I will be filming my Countdown episode!

Already I have a very positive view of the team.  Maps and tips have been sent and money to cover the train fare.  I just don’t trust myself to remember the tips.  My practice games seem to show I am getting worse not better and I didn’t sleep well.  it should be a great day.  I appear in the penultimate game so I have audience tickets for the first 3 games filmed.  I think, if my opponants are not too good, I do have a slim chance of winning one or even two games.  On TV at the moment is Jen Steadman and I am so glad she will have had 8 games before I came along.  But there could be someone just as good in full flow.  If I were to win both games then I would need to return probably in November.

I have packed 5 tops and tried to follow the rules (no thin stripes, no sparkle, no checks, no small patterns all of which can cause camera problems).  I’ve practised putting on make up hoping not to look too washed out.

The next time I wrote other than a ‘jot’ by smartphone, it will all be over.

Just keep your fingers crossed that my first opponant is not a 10 year old genius.  Two of my grandchildren made me a lovely card.  If the first contestant I play is called Robert it might freak me out!IMG_1071

About apiarylandlord

Definitely past it - whatever it was - I may have blinked and missed it. New to beekeeping and totally entranced by the experience. That is probably all you need to know until I work out how secure this blog is. Great fan of recycling - see ilovefreegle.org to find your local group. Save things from landfill. Pass on your surplus, locally, for free or ask for things you need in case you can have someone's cast off again for free.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Beekeeper this autumn

  1. Emily Heath says:

    Very exciting – best of luck and let us know when the episode will be on!

    • And whilst waiting in Manchester I got a message confirming I’ve got a p /t job teaching at King’s College, London. Too much excitement for an OAP! Of course I’ll tell people when Countdown will be aired.

      Plant for bees and Freegle what you don’t need any longer.

Leave a Reply

