In bait hive style, I realise I have a lot to learn


Most beekeepers eventually have bad backs.  Mine was dodgy even before the beekeeping and my garden trolley does help me keep going.  But I don’t inspect if it is having a bad day or so which is why I decided a bait hive was a necessity, to stand a chance of luring a swarm if one occured.  Sometimes I add some lemon grass oil or similar.  I’ve given up buying swarm lure.  My bait hive has some limitations.  It isn’t high up and perhaps it is too close to the original hives.

So I was really intrigued to read in Rusty’s blog about her swarm trap.  I haven’t worked out how to reblog from a non WordPress site so I need to add a link to it – she says it so much better than I.  Perhaps making one in its likeness would be a good idea on this wet Bank Holiday Monday?

About apiarylandlord

Definitely past it - whatever it was - I may have blinked and missed it. New to beekeeping and totally entranced by the experience. That is probably all you need to know until I work out how secure this blog is. Great fan of recycling - see ilovefreegle.org to find your local group. Save things from landfill. Pass on your surplus, locally, for free or ask for things you need in case you can have someone's cast off again for free.
This entry was posted in bait hive, Bee life, Swarms, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to In bait hive style, I realise I have a lot to learn

  1. I didn’t know lemon grass oil attracted bees? We need cinnamon oil at the apiary – too many ants getting into the roof!

Leave a Reply

